New Lessons…

Warning: Long, almost pictureless post ahead. Proceed with caution. Mucho cussin, too.

You think you know knitting. You think you know how things are usually going to work. You can accept defeat but only so much. And so it was with this sock yarn…

I bought 4 skeins of Artyarns Ultramerino4 in the hopes of making some knee-high jaywalkers. The plan was to start at the toe and keep knitting, and increasing as it goes up my calf. I cast on 68 stitches because experience has taught me(there I go knowing shit again…) that 76 stitches for a stockinette(or in this case, mostly stockinette) sock is too many and the sock will be too big on my foot. So, after careful calculations I started with 68 stitches. And all hell broke loose.

The pattern just wasn’t knitting up the way I’d liked. I knew this wasn’t a true striping yarn, but I figured that Jays were the perfect sock to break up the pooling associated with this type of variegated yarn. It works on lots of other yarns, and even some other knitter’s FO made WITH the same brand of yarn. But the ‘striping’ just didn’t look right.

See?
Jay Kneehigh

So I ripped and restarted on 76 stitches and damn. The ‘striping’ seemed more tolerable, but, as I figured it was just too damn big. So. I gave that up.

I then tried to use that yarn in another stitch pattern and it just wasn’t coming out right either. And then it hit me. The twist. It’s the freaking twist(or ply). Because of the way the yarn is made it’s very sproingy. Sproingy as if there was elastic in it, but not stretchy, if you know what I mean. It is, after all, Merino yarn. So, I’ve decided that this yarn will not work for anything other than a plain stockinette sock. Fuqq-0-rama. Well, it’s a good thing I really like the colorway. That’ll teach my ass to buy things just because I like the colors!

Moral of the story: Leave the damn yarn. You SPIN now..

Then, speaking of spinning, last week I went to hang with Karen and spin. I took the bus there and back. When I got home I was tired and didn’t want to fuss with dragging my wheel back into my room, which requires negotiation of a narrow space between a bookshelf and a wall. So, I left it in the living room for two days. Of course, when I went to get the wheel and bring it in I noticed the thumbscrew for the flyer was missing. I cussed about how SugarBoogers probably was playing with my flyer and the screw fell out. I looked all over the living room and didn’t find it. Then I figured I’d lost it on the bus. I would notice that sometimes the flyer shaft would just spin around while the bus was moving. The last time I took the bus with Dutchie, I took the flyer off and kept it in my bag. But this time I figured I’d leave it on so the flyer shaft didn’t poke anyone. and what happens? I lose the damn screw..

So, after a week of not being able to spin I set out to Home Depot to get some replacements. Stood at the wall of screws and bolts for 30 minutes! with SugarBoogers in tow(Thank you, Monster-in-law, for not taking ALL 3 kids for the week. I ‘pree-shate’ that.). Came back with a little 5 pack of 8-32 3/4″ screws after looking like a common loon, trying to stuff the screws into the flyer hole(yes I took it with me) through the little plastic bag. –Only after doing all that did I see a peg board type thing with all the various screw sizes sticking out that I could have tried to put through the hole. —

Get home with the loot(after mopping up a SugarBoogers melt-down because I took the big-ass bag with the little-ass bag of screws in it from her—fuckin idjit cashier!! WhyTF would you give that to the child like that? You think I came all that way for SCREWS for her to LOSE THEM? You must not have any fuckin brains.–scuse me, getting carried away), and the screw is a perfect fit! Much better than the original, but, it’s a regular round head screw because they didn’t have thumbscrews in the size I needed. All I need is a nail file to tighten.. yehoo!!

And then after the two older kids come home and do a re-cleaning, what does middle child plop on my desk? You guessed it. The MF-ing thumbscrew.

The moral of the story: Put your shit away when you get home or parts will go missing.

(I can only guess at how many hits this post alone will generate because of the word ‘screw’. I also stood at the wall for 30 minutes because I sure as hell wasn’t going to ask ANY HD employees(especially the ugly ones) for a ‘screw’ LMAO. You see the danger in that.

But things aren’t too bad in the fiber world right now. I’ve accepted my defeats with the yarn and the *ahem*, and I’ve got a new shawl on the needles.. Yeah, you know it! I’m almost through with repeat 4 of rows 19-42 of Chart 1 on Icarus. I needed something where most of the shawl was mindless, so I decided to redo Iccy. The shawl is really beautiful and I’d like another color. I’m using tan/gray sock yarn for this one, but when overdyed it will be a deeper jewel-tone type color. I’m feeling this already. It is Aug 26. Think I’ll finished by Sept 1? 😉

So that’s it for this entry. Take it easy crafters. Don’t go crazy like me. 😉

7 responses to “New Lessons…

  1. Sympathetic to your awful HD trip. The quality of employees at ours has tanked in recent years. That yarn will be beautiful with black or khaki but it does look a little strongly contrasty to use in a pattern stitch.

  2. Well doesn’t that figure? After all that work you found what you were looking for to begin with. Dammit. The next stuff you spin had best be gold.

  3. Honey, all I can say is I feel your pain. I really feel your pain!

    Necia

  4. I feel your pain in the HD adventure. I tried to match parts once… came home with the wrong screw and never got around to returning it. Look forward to seeing some pictures next time.

  5. Taking a spinning wheel on a bus in NY, you are brave. And too bad about the socks as they look quite fun.

  6. Yeah.

    I’m kinda there with the Kaffe Fasset sock yarn too.

    hugs!

Leave a Reply

