Happy Birthday! And FO’s!!

No, it’s not my birthday. But my little fuzzy cuddlies are 2 years old today.

Birthday Hammies

Three sons and one daughter from the pair I had, Batman and Catwoman. Sadly, they and their father are all that remain. Mom and their sibs all passed away. I love me my hammies. I didn’t even know Catwoman was expecting until hubby woke me up and said, “Is it too soon to call you ‘Gramma’?” I jumped up, peeked in her cage; there were 9 little pink thingies in her nest and she was off looking for food. I wanted to ring his neck, I swear. But it’s all good now. 🙂

I have some FOs and a new WIP for you. You like that, huh? 😉

First up:
gradient PurlBump scarf

I know, It’s not blocked. I’ll get around to that. I promise. There may even be a pic with someone WEARING it. *Groucho eyebrow*. I was winging this as I went, with the dyeing. I tried my hand at the gradual immersion technique and well, I don’t know if I like it. I tried adding the whole thing and pulling some out over time so that it would be various shades.. Then I tried adding just the end and putting more in over time.. I really don’t think it matters much. I simply didn’t get enough shade changes. Maybe it was the fact that I used Wiltons, maybe it was because it’s blue. At least I got to use my handspun! 🙂
Stats:
Pattern:”PurlBump” scarf
Yarn: Handspun SheepShed- Brown Sheep mill ends in ecru/undyed
Needle: US 9(5.5?mm) Bryspun circular
Started Aug.7, 2007
Finished Aug. 9, 2007

I think this is the fastest I’ve finished a scarf. Woo!

Then there’s:
VLTdyed 001

This is the Victorian Lace Today scarf I’d been working on the past week. The book states you should work the border 4 times but I only did it 3 and had to work out the numbers to pick up the right number of stitches for the center panel. It worked out easily. This is the first time I’ve knit something with this type of construction; knitting a border, turning it sideways to pick up stitches, knitting up from there, and then knitting-on the second border. I need to do more of these! I don’t know how the hell I’ll block this thing; it’s bigger than my blocking board.. *sigh*
Stats:
Pattern: Scarf with open and solid diamond lace edging from Weldon’s, 1904, from Victorian Lace Today
Yarn: KnitPicks Bare Laceweight(which I dyed pink-ish with Wild Berry Tea Kool Aid)
Needle: Inox Express 4.5mm(US 7)
Started: Aug. 3, 2007
Finished: Aug. 11, 2007(including dyeing)

But wait, there’s more! I’ve got a new lace WIP going as well(did you really think I wouldn’t? 😉 )

sagitarria shawl 002
Sagittaria Shawl

Another Ravelry find. I love that place. Worry not if you haven’t received your invite yet, it’s coming!!

This pattern is woooo… Let me tell ya. Valerie referred to it as ‘Icarus(shawl) with a kick’. She wasn’t lying; this bad boy was kickin’ my ass! Look at the charts and you’ll see what I mean. I had to do some serious marking to get Chart 2 to work to my advantage. Once I got a feeling for the pattern repeat, I simply marked off the sidelines with the number of stitches left after you’ve done the right number of repeats. So far, it’s paid off; just a missing stitch from a dropped YO but that’s easily fixable. I’m not complaining though. Sagitarria’s going to be a knock-out!

It may seem like I’ve been cheating by knitting with Bare and then dying. But sometimes I just don’t know what color I want the FO to be until I’m done with it. I still have yet to take some of my handspun and make a lace shawl. I’m still hoping to get that done before the year is out. My spinning whims are all over the map lately. I’m still working on the black stuff so there’s nothing new to say about that.

And for all the crafting moms out there, a moment to brag about SugarBoogers:

Beanlet Giftwrap

And in the wrapping?
Beanlet Gift

Littlest Bean is enjoying a short break for what’s left of summer, and then it’s back to the grind for her(and all of them 😉 ). She’s improved in her speech some, and her vocabulary is soaring! I’m so proud of my little Beanlet. Hee.

So, that’s it for this post. Happy Sunday!

Addendum:
BeanKnits and Spins podcast is on hiatus until it’s quiet in the house AND I’m awake.. at the a same time. 😉 (school starts)

8 responses to “Happy Birthday! And FO’s!!

  1. I used to have hamsters too! My mom made me get rid of them because they were multiplying like roaches. hahahhahahahahhahaha. Wow you’ve been busy. I totally do think Sagitarria is gonna stay on the back burner for me for awhile. I just don’t need a headache in my life right now. I guess I’ll cast on next for Flirty Ruffles so I can wear to rhinebeck. I’m sure the ruffles will cause me some sleep! However, I will be watching your progress!

    Necia

  2. I like the immersion dyed scarf! Pretty cool! Sagitarria, huh? I’ll have to check that one out…I’m on a serious lace kick. I want to knit every piece of lace I see…I just don’t have enough hands nor time. 🙂

  3. HAMMIES!!!!!! I love your lace projects!!!
    and congrats to little beanie baby!

  4. congrats to babybeanlette! yay for doing great in school. and I love how the VLT scarf turned out!

  5. Wow, your scarves are beautiful! What excellent work. The lace is gorgeous and the color-fade on the first one is really evocative. Love the Sagittaria shawl–I am a Sagittarius and I may have to knit that! 😀

    So you like the Marx Bros. too, eh?

    What a sweet packages to receive–it’s so nice when people show their appreciation and caring like that.

  6. O! And I forgot to wish the hammies a happy birthday! They’re so cute. 😀 My Chico-rat turns 2 sometime in November, I estimate–maybe I’ll bake him a cake! 😉

  7. Happy Hammie Day!

    Love the scarves, both of them!

    And So happy for little Beanlet doing well.

  8. Happy Hammie Birthday! You must be a proud grandma. 🙂

    I think knitting first and then dyeing is a good way to go. (It sounds a lot easier than dyeing yarn in a hank!)

Leave a Reply

