WIPs and random thoughts

I promised a picture of the Lombard Street socks in progress so here it is:

LombardsocksWIP

Let me tell you that while it’s a pretty pattern, I don’t think I’ll knit it again. Granted the decreases and increase are inherent in lace knitting BUT, the juxtaposition of such in this particular pattern had me jacking up the stitch count something awful. There was much tinking and cussin with this sock. I give kudos to the heel flap though. Or at least it might be due to the yarn I’m using. There’s a little bit of a design there because of the slip stitching on the flap. Nice.

Lombard heelclose 002

Then there’s the newest addition to the WIPs list *blushing*:

VLTscarf1begin

A lace scarf from Victorian Lace Today. Strangely I don’t think this pattern HAS a title other than, ” Scarf with the open and solid diamond lace edging from Weldon’s, 1904″. So, that’s what it is. I’ll refer to it here on out as, “VLT scarf #1”. 🙂

If there are two things that this project makes me realize, it’s that 1) Dangly stitchmarkers ARE a pain in the ass, and 2) I really need a set of Options needles. I could use Crystal Palace circs to get a pointy tip but it’s a bamboo needle and I’d prefer a metal needle so the stitches will slide along easier. This is being done on a 4.0mm Addi turbo. I know Addi makes lace needles but at $15 a pop, no thanx. As for the markers, I say that because when I work the wrong side of the scarf I have to keep flipping the marker around to get it out of the way once I’ve knit it. If that makes any sense. Granted, when I made them, I probably used too many beads on it and the wire is not a soft enough gauge for a dangly. I’ll have to work on that; I DO like them but this is clearly too long and stiff not flexible enough. 🙂

As for previously mentioned WIPs, Stripedy is going to be worked on more once it cools off some. The Badia top is going to be ripped. I just don’t have it in me right now to make a lot of changes to something. What started out with accidentally knitting more length than the pattern called for at a certain point, I was trying to turn into extra length to account for the hikeage that normally occurs in the front of some of my tops. My measurements per the pattern were way off but I was going to work around that and use it to my ‘advantage’. Then I got distracted with other stuff and found myself preferring to knit the new things. I think the yarn is also the problem. I just can’t seem to find anything to do with that SWTC Bamboo. If it were variegated I’d do another Clapotis but it’s plain and I know that’ll bore me to tears. *sigh*…

I have an announcement. I have in my posession, 24 silk hankies, sent to me by Cordelia. Thank you Muggy! Now the thing is, how to DYE them for spinning.

I’m thinking of dividing them up into 4 sets and doing 4 colors each. My hope is to spin the colors in one order, and then go back the other way. Of course I’d have to do this twice so that there’s enough for two of whatever I make. Could be socks, could be MITTENS! I could spin up some black merino and ply it with that to get a stained glass-type effect. But, what colors?

Decisions, decisions.

Til next time!

5 responses to “WIPs and random thoughts

  1. LOOOVE the scarf!

  2. I gotta say, I just laughed out loud that this post is categorized under “Annoying $hit”.
    I like the looks of dangly beaded stitch markers, but they are a pain in the ass especially with laceweight yarn. I bought a bunch of silver closed jump rings from a jewelry supply place. They are soldered closed so they don’t have any edges to catch on things. I just use them plain for markers. If you have yarnovers right next to the markers you have to be a little watchful, as the marker tends to migrate to the wrong side, but it’s not as annoying as having your yarn catch in the marker and tear.
    I really like the VLT scarf, even if it has a rather unimaginative title in the book.

  3. ooh i like the new banner!

  4. So….finished with the scarf yet :P?

    I’m gonna try and finish mine tonight I think, since Nate’s cooking :).

  5. The socks look awesome on the iPhone

Leave a Reply

