FO Show ‘n’ Tell

I know I was supposed to do a WIP post on Friday. It just wasn’t happening. I’ll tell you what DID happen, though.

I met up with the gals at The Point and we had a jolly good time. There was wine and snacks and knitting to work on. But worry not, no one messed up because of the liquor! πŸ™‚

While I was there I got to finish up the Monkey socks I was working on:

MonkeyatPoint
monkeysocks 001

These were a fast, addictive knit. And I got to try something I didn’t think was possible: a heel flap that would actually FIT. I know, that sounds crazy. But in the past, the heel flaps I’ve knit never stayed put. They’d be sliding all over the place and would bunch up in my shoes. Something told me to shorten the flap before turning the heel. I figured, ‘what have I got to lose?’, and set to. It worked! I will now knit less rows of the flap before turning the heel on heel flap socks. I still love my short row heels though, don’t get me wrong. But sometimes, the ‘lines’ of a sock work better when you use a heel flap instead of a different heel. So I’m a bit more open-minded about using flaps on my socks.

Stats:
Pattern: Monkey Socks
For: Me!
Yarn: Schoeller & Stahl Fortissima Socka in light blue(color # 1004)
Started: July 22, 2007
Finished: July 27, 2007
Mods: Shortened the heel flap to 20 rows to fit my heel better.

Before I left the house that day I got lucky:
MIAKoigu

Get your mind out of the gutter, that’s not what I meant! πŸ˜‰

I found this yarn in a bag hanging on my bedroom shelf. I swear I didn’t mean to hide it from myself but that’s apparently what I did. I was using this Koigu along with another color to knit 4 socks at one time on a very long circular. That didn’t work out so I cut two skeins loose and put them aside. In that bag. And forgot about them LOL. I was digging in there because that’s where I hide my camera batteries. I felt around and was like, “Oh Shit! I had this here all this time?!”.

I took the yarn with me, but didn’t cast on as I wasn’t too sure what pattern to use. I’ve chosen the Lombard Street socks for the yarn and I’m already done with one but I’ll show you those on Friday if I do get around to a WIPs post. Besides, I got distracted by some ooooh-ahhh Artyarns in colorway 140. I caught a nice deal, with 25% off and pretty much got one skein free. Because I got 4. Yes, I know. hee. They’ll be some banging knee-length Jaywalkers when I get around to figuring the calf shaping.

Where my spinners at? I gots something for you!

spunkyspunatPoint

This is what became of the “Sarabella” 100% Merino fiber from Spunky Eclectic(link on sidebar). I planned on spinning for a sock yarn and I guess I COULD use it for socks, but it’s only about 200 yards. I knew that Navajo-plying would reduce the yardage by 2/3, but I didn’t know how much I started with. I tried to spin very fine but apparently, that wasn’t fine enough because it amounts to what would be a sport weight yarn. So, it will become something OTHER than socks. *sigh*. Had I known how much I had I would have 2-plied. Dammit. πŸ™‚

Finally, another FO for you. Behold!: White Lion Cloth( Grrr from Knitty.com)

It’s Grrr. πŸ™‚ I needed a break from all the tiny needles I’d been working with lately. So I figured I’d go with some worsted weight cotton. I don’t know what I was thinking, that’s just as bad for my hands! But. Lookie! I know SugarBoogers will like her morning bath more once she sees that. I hope. The loop stitch was rather fiddly but after a while it was second nature. I might go up a needle size the next time I make one of these; make it a little bigger.

Stats:
Pattern: Grrr washcloth
For: SugarBoogers
Yarn: good ole’ Lily Sugar ‘n Cream in basic white, plus a smidge of Austermann Mayfair in navy for the ‘face’
Started: July 31, 2007
Finished: same day!
Mods: None, really. I think I fooked up the row order somewhere after the face section but it ain’t gonna matter in a billion years, will it? πŸ˜‰

That’s all, for now!

8 responses to “FO Show ‘n’ Tell

  1. Cute grr! And I am impressed with your ability to knit socks and drink wine!

  2. hee hee, Bezzie said drink wind. LOL!

    Grr is so cute! I think I shall make one!

  3. That’s an impressive bunch o’ knitting! (I started to say, “mess o’ knitting”, but that sounded bad!). Wow!

  4. well that was certainly a fun afternoon, despite my minor wooziness. and i didn’t get nearly as much knitting done as you! so impressed…

  5. You’ve been busy. Nice Monkeys.

  6. I adore the washcloth!!!!

  7. Oh that yarn looks so much better as monkeys! Awesome. How big would you say Grr! turned out?

  8. My first time to visit my Ravelry neighbor. I’ll keep reading as you keep knitting. I like Grrr… very cute.

Leave a Reply

