Caught in the Knitty-jar…

I’m trying to remember the last time I had two patterns from the same source going at one time. I’m drawing a big blank.

There’s the bmp socks, and now I’ve added the Daisy sweater.

daisy1wip 001

A close-up:
daisy1wip 003

So far, so good, though I was off to a bit of a rocky start.. (what is it with rocky starts, lately?).
I swatched on two needles before I gave up and decided to just go for it. With a smaller needle even. Thankfully, it’s a flat work because I don’t know if I could hack a 16″ needle in the round. But that means knitting backwards for a firmer, more consistent fabric, which luckily isn’t killing my hands with it being made of cotton and all.

This is the first of two of these, for a former supervisor’s(she’s still there, I quit) twins which are yet to be born. The other one will be lavender. I don’t know the sex of the babies so I’d rather use neutral colors than to wait and see what they are and THEN pick colors.

It’s been 11 years since I last worked on a baby sweater/clothing. Back then, I’d crocheted an ensemble consisting of a blanket, hat and a one-piece pantsuit. My daughter was 6 lbs and the pantsuit was STILL too small. I was heartbroken. I’d worked so hard on it and there were errors in the pattern on top of it.

Fast forward 7 years, to 2004. I picked out a bunch of layette patterns to crochet something for my best friend who was expecting her first child. I hemmed and hawed at the possibility of screwing this up too.. I was also working on a gigantic granny square blanket for her, but sadly the blanket was all that got finished. So it is with trepidation that I begin these sweaters.

Wish me luck!

2 responses to “Caught in the Knitty-jar…

  1. Nah, you’ll get it the first time no problem! Happy Memorial Day ! :~

  2. I know it will be just great !
    Love the green color!

Leave a Reply

