No pics, just blather

scrapsonbaby

Ok I lied. Here’s a picture. The finished Scrap Socks for eldest child. Modeled on youngest child,
’cause she’s available. It’s hard to get models around these parts πŸ™‚

Stats: ScrapSocks(my own concoction) on 48 stitches with ankle shaping(more on that later)
Yarn: Leftovers of Koigu PPPM and overdyed Kroy sock yarns
Needle: Addi Turbo 40″ US1(2.5mm) w/ Magic Loop technique
Started: 4/23 Finished 4/26

So, I tried ankle shaping and realized that was a bad idea when kiddo had a hard time getting her foot past it. Yeah. On the second sock I still did decreases, but not as many. The yarn is sort of stretchy so she can wear them anyway, with no real problems. It’s starting to warm up good here, so I don’t know how much use she’ll get out of them before her foot grows again in time for the fall.. well, I can always save them and pass them down to lil’ sis, right?

Then, for me:
Sockotta socks done

Stats: Plain Old Socks(again, my own ‘design’) on 56 stitches.
Yarn: Plymouth Sockotta colorway 6673
Needle: Addi Turbo 40″ US1(2.5mm) w/ Magic Loop technique
Started: 4/18 Finished 4/21

Nothing much to say about these. They fit ok, but the cotton/wool blend doesn’t impress me. I understand these can be worn all year long because of the content, but apparently the nylon in it isn’t enough to take away from the tacky, non-stretchy feel of cotton. Everyone talks about the softness of some cottons; it would appear the cotton used in these is the same as that rough dishcloth cotton instead of a more premium fiber. Oh well.

It’s official: I’m a fabric addict.

Fat Quarter O Rama

The yellow fixings are for a DPN case. I have to get a few more yards of this and that for this project. The lavendar stuff is for, you guessed it, another tote bag. I need some notions for this as well, before I can start. The little bundle wrapped in gold ribbon is some other fat quarters I will strip up for headbands and kerchiefs. I love wearing those. I love knitting, but knitting these two items seems so… I don’t know. I just am not fond of it. The strip of elastic is for the quilted knee socks that won’t stay up. I got a good deal on all these goodies..

I was at RagShop the other day, with a 40%-off-one-item jobbie and ready to rumble. There was another fat quarter bundle and a few patterns in the basket as well, but… Got to the register and learned I’d misread the date(or lost track of my days) because the coupon had expired! Dammit! So some things had to go back. After I’d paid the cashier handed me a future coupon for 30% off your entire purchase of non-sale items. And the damn thing was for THAT DAY! Yes, I did. Made her undo everything so I could get the discount. I still didn’t take what I’d decided to leave behind. I can always go back and get some more later, right? What would have cost me $25 came down to less than $18. DEAL!

Also, you may have noticed I had the Spiral Socks from “Socks Socks Socks” on the needles. I was originally using that Plymouth yarn and it just wasn’t working. So I went to the plain sock you see above. I didn’t even bother to update the listing; just removed it totally. I’ve learned to just leave the fancy patterning to plain colors or lightly variegated yarns.. them self-stripe-jacquarding joints don’t work. Rarely, if at all. So that’s that.

Anything else in the list is coming along slowly but surely, thanx for asking! πŸ™‚

As an addendum: I am anticipating major surgery next Friday. I will need to take it easy but I will still be around. No. I’m not crazy. Really. πŸ™‚ Since all I can do is sit, I may even holler at you on the BeanCast. So look out for that.

Happy Weekend!

7 responses to “No pics, just blather

  1. Cute kiddo sockies! And yours are quite nice too. I can’t believe how clean your treadles are! mine are permanently darkened with dirt in the shape of my feet! And, I’ve even tried to clean them….

  2. Yeah Sockotta is an aquired taste for sure.
    Don’t feel bad about making that clerk redo your order. If she didn’t want to do it, she shouldn’t have handed you that coupon! Ha ha!

  3. I can’t keep up withthe tmplate changes you keep on making to the blog. They’re nice though. It’s like a box of chocolates, you never know, yada yada yada.

    Sock knitting and fabric acan be very addictive. I finally made my first wearable garment but you’ll have to wait to see a pic.

  4. Socks came out really nice! I have to play with my Colinette one of these days. Go to ragshop.com and sign up,,, they should have discount coupons along with notice of sales zapped right to your email addy!

  5. Love both pairs of socks!! Hah! You’ve gone over to the other fiber side LOL! I came from the fabric fiber side to the knitting fiber side and have yet to go to the spinning fiber side…hehe..did that make sense? Can’t wait to see your new projects. Go you for using the coupon too!!

  6. Beancast with Bean on painkillers!

    Me likey the socks and the fabric! I’m getting my lesson tomorrow so next week I’m hitting the fabric store. We’ll see a skirt on the blog sometime soon!

  7. Oh I do like the color of your socks though! I wish for that color in a wool blend.. I think I would like that. And the kiddo socks are so cute!
    Yayy for the growing fabric stash!!!!

Leave a Reply

