It’s Butter! (Park… heyyyyy)

I don’t know what possessed me, but last night I made butter. Yes, butter.

Home made butter

I’d heard of other people doing it, so I bought some heavy cream a few days ago and just went with it. Apparently, all you have to do is shake the hell out of the cream and it eventually clumps into butter. Who knew? I started shaking the container it was in. That didn’t work. I emptied some out, thinking there wasn’t enough room in there; that didn’t help any. Then I had the sense to actually use a glass jar and between me and one of the kids, we finally got the stuff to clump. After a few rinsing sessions, we had butter. And boy is it good! I learned a bit too late I could have used the food processor so next time I do this, that’s what I’ll use. And I’ll think ahead and salt the cream instead of trying to salt the butter afterwards… I gave a bit to hubby on some bread and he couldn’t tell it wasn’t store-bought. Woohoo!!

Today was even more fun!

wheelondabus

I grabbed a little one and we set out to spin in the park with Karen .
knittyspin

We had a good time too! People gathered, stared, asked questions and some wee ones even helped turn Karen’s wheel! πŸ™‚ It was too cute. Some old lady walked up and asked me all kinds of questions, and then pinched off some of my roving and walked off with it!! WTF? *sigh*…

pattysingles

I got to work on the rest of the St. Patty’s Day ‘haggis’ roving, merino 64s I dyed back in March, and then I took a little break and worked on a mate to a sock:
almostdone

I finished it while in the park. I’ll post a pic and stats hopefully in the next blog post.

As we were leaving, we were serenaded by this little guy, dropping little bits of whatever he was nibbling on, onto us:

Little friend

Well, at least it was food, and not something else. Hee. I even got a little Saturday Sky in there, as it was nothing but clear, blue.

All in all, today was a great day. Can’t wait to do this again.

16 responses to “It’s Butter! (Park… heyyyyy)

  1. I’m loving the green handspun! Sounds like a perfect day in the park πŸ™‚

  2. Park….heyyyyy. OMG, I just got it. *smacks forehead*

    Anyways…..As always, I had a great time. Did you spin on the bus, huh, huh? πŸ™‚

  3. LOVE the sockyarn….
    and butter! how cool is that?

  4. Butter? Sounds like something I would do.

    I am so jealous that you got to have fun in the sun. There’s always tomorrow.

  5. Butter???? That must have been so much fun. Cool to be able to spin in the park. I would love to do that too. But I would have to have some friend with me for a more enjoyable time. I am looking forward to Spin Out in September. oohh ” Park ” like park and draft. Hee…Hee…Hee

  6. Neato! The kids want to do the butter things now. How do you use the food processor.

    People are always curious whenever I am doing something crafty at the park. I usually have to put it all away due to the crowd gathering.

  7. I remember making butter in a glass baby food jar in school during a class on the pioneers, we all had toast after with our own butter, best thing ever!

    An old Lady took off with some of your roving? I bet it meant something to her.

  8. I bet the butter was good! Go you and Karen SIP’ing! The nerve of the old lady though..she didn’t even ask??? The sock looks good, I have the same yarn and it is nice to see it knit up, who knows when I’ll do mine. Nice green handspun!

  9. someone actually just pinched off some of your roving and took off?! oh goodness =/

  10. Looks like you both had a great time in great weather! πŸ™‚

  11. You and Karen inspired me to spin in public, but not the damn park. Yesterday I kindly pulled my wheel to the front porch, and with my ashy feet I went to work. I gathered small crowds here and there too. Don’t know if it was for the fact that I was spinning or the fact that my feet was so dang on ashy. Needless to say, no flicks of that, but it was fun. If you think butter is fun, must try cheese. Let me know if you’re interested in some cheese making links.

    Necia

  12. That’s a great photo of you and Karen spinning. I wonder if anyone thought you were street performers πŸ™‚

    mmm butter!

  13. Butter! I do that all the time! Arm exercise it is,,, but the best thing is you can make outrageous flavored butters (think garlic) by adding it to the cream prior to shaking.

    It was beautiful yesterday and today too! I took my wheel to my front porch and started to navaho ply that bobbin of hollyberry already! If the weather does hold out for Thursday,, going outside to spin with one of my friends out here! Wheeee!

  14. This is the second time this week I’ve read about home made butter. I’m going to try it too!

    And, spinning in the park! Fun! I spun my Finn in the back yard…

  15. I’ve never made butter in a jar. That sounds fun.

    If you take whipping cream, the real stuff, not the sugary desert topping stuff, you can use use a mixer or whip it until it’s thick and has a pale yellow color. Whipped butter is wonderful. You can add a little honey to it too. I discovered this while whipping cream to make frosting.

    Your socks are coming out really pretty.

  16. That looked like a fun day πŸ™‚

    Buttah!

    *mucho hugs*

Leave a Reply

