No Excuses

I could tell you that I’ve been MIA because of life getting in the way. That would only be partly true. The truth is, I don’t have any freakin excuse. Ok, maybe I do.

I keep promising a podcast and I have material for it, but with the hubby’s work hours changed there’s hardly any peaceful time to record it. Peaceful being, no snoring hubby, no screaming kids, and no phone likely to ring. By the time all three things occur at the same exact time, there’s only a few more hours before I have to get up and start my day. Worry not, it’s a-comin.

I used to ace essays in high school, so one might think I’d be really good at posting on this blog about what I have to say. Half the time, that’s just not so. (You know how many YEARS it’s been since high school? Right. )

3 Years.

It just hit me that I’ve been knitting 3 years! I’m not sure of the actual date(of course). What I do know is it was sometime between mid-February and umm, now. I only crocheted until this point 3 years ago. Oh, I’ll admit that I had some old knitting needles of my mom’s and I realize now that essentially I was doing a backwards loop cast-on, and then I’d knit, and knit and knit… NO idea how to purl, and don’t tell anyone, but I hadn’t a clue about binding off either.

How’d I get to be a knitter? I got SICK of finding nice patterns on the ‘net, only to see they were a knit pattern! Please understand I’m not disparaging crochet. I’ll never understand that (even-if-in-jest) war between crochet and knitting. But all the projects I LIKED turned out to be knitting. And I didn’t knit. I ordered a book that would supposedly teach me how to convert knitting patterns to crochet, but it took SO long to get to me I just said F it and learned myself. (I’ve since received the book and read it.. it’s a ufcking joke! With all the ‘converting’ you could just learn whichever method you don’t know, and it’d be easier!)

I started out with ribbed swatches, learned more solid cast-on methods, learned to *gasp* bind off, and never looked back. The last time I picked up a crochet hook since then was probably around a year ago? heh. It feels sooo…awkward now. I keep saying I’ll still crochet things like doilies, and I even purchased a big-ass ball of crochet cotton for the job. You think I’ve touched it? Hunh.

So, That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

Of course, I have been spinning. Ya’ll must be sick of me by now. I love you anyway. But seriously. Spinning is just so much fun. It allows me to just think. Ever get time to do that? TAKE IT!. It’s totally possible to just zone out and mess up the spinning but it’s wayyyyy easier to do with knitting. The next several planned knitting projects will not allow me to do that. And yes, they’re coming. I know I haven’t put much in my sidebar WIPs list. It’s been slow going. A lot of doc visits(surgery coming up soon) and yet, I don’t get enough time to knit anything. The day I DON’T bring something to read or work on, is the day I’m sitting there ’til the cows come home, waiting to see the doc. Got Dammit.

I have to get those Quilted Socks off the needles. I need the needles. hehe Also, just to get them done. Oh, and if it says that Knitpicks Sock Memories is handwash only, believe it. I washed and dried a pair at the laundromat and dammit. They didn’t felt, but they did shrink. DD will have a nice pair of socks now.

Last but not least, since I can’t seem to get these pics up for Fiber Friday on Craftster(I love the place and I’ll always go and oooh and ahh but I’m done posting pics there), here’s some twisted pr0n for you:

Spunky Navajo Gems

Spunky Eclectic’s Navajo Gems BFL. I had alot more fun spinning this thick instead of thin. I need more practice spinning thick and thin singles. This gave it to me. Just a little curl there.

Littlebarn wool/silk blend

Remember Shiny Yellow, purple too? This is the yellow fiber, all by itself. OMG Can we say BRIGHT!?

I love it though. Unknown wool/silk fiber blend from Little Barn, via Rhinebeck. I don’t think I could DYE a yarn this bright. Not sure of the yardage.. will find out soon though 🙂

BFL madness 002

Hello Yarn BFL in Oatmeal(gray). Despite the slubs it was a pleasant spinning experience. I like the natural coloring. Approx. 321 yards. May turn into socks. If I can get hubby to sit still long enough to measure his feet.

And there you have it!
Enjoy the pr0n.

12 responses to “No Excuses

  1. Hi Bean! I missed you!

  2. LOVE the thick/thin. Where is it that you keep your stash? Just uhm, asking, so I can peek at it when I’m at your house. Yeah, that’s it. 🙂

  3. MY FAVOURITE BEAN!!!
    I miss ya girl!
    I ADORE the blue and gray yarn you made!!!!

  4. Hey Beans,

    You spinning like an old time pro, like you was born next to a wheel. Very very nice. Of course my fave is old yella.

    Necia

  5. Hiya Bean! Glad you have the spinning to keep you going! Great looking handspun there! 🙂

  6. Hey Bean….love that thicker yarn. Great colors. Perfect to brighten up the dreary winter. Good to see you blogging. 🙂 Miss you in chat.
    ~Dani

  7. Gorgeous yarn – that seems like a prefectly good excuse to start knitting if you ask me. Although I have to say, there are some good crochet patterns out right now. Not that I’ve picked up the hook in a year or so. 🙂

  8. I love all the yarns, but I love the Spunky Eclectic best! Oh, and when did you change your banner photo? 🙂

  9. I love stumbling across blogs that I like and now I will be adding yours to my favorites. I have only been knitting since the summer and blogging for less than that. I love the inspiration that I get from looking at the work of others. So far I am a sock knitting kind of girl. (Can I still call myself a girl since my hair is salt and pepper and my older son (19) is “reproductively viable”?). I am going to download your January podcast to listen to while I wait in the pediatrician’s office at 4PM to hear that my youngest DS does not have chicken pox.

    Take care.

  10. I’m jealous, I’m jealous, I’m jealous, I’m jealous!

    Have I said it enough?

    Your spinning is simply fabulous!

  11. I love that chunkier blue/grey yarn – it is gorgeous. Aren’t you a clever ole bean!

  12. oh man, that yarn looks so yummy!!! and wow, knitting for 3 years. i’ll be hitting my 3 year mark too (this fall). =)

Leave a Reply

