Over’Joy’ed

You know I’ve been having fun with the Joy wheel. I’ve managed to, in a single 24 hour period, finish up the Finn roving I’d been spinning, attempt to PLY it, screwed THAT up, and then learned that I was, in fact, letting too much yarn into one spot on the bobbin, and causing it to overflow.(is that the world record for number of comma’s in a sentence, or what? πŸ™‚ )

This is a hank of the Finn roving I’d been spinning; there’s more where that came from, but I have yet to measure the yardage since I’ve recently learned that measuring BEFORE setting the twist is futile because the yarn shrinks some with washing:


I have no idea what I’m going to make with it. I’m still hyped over finishing this:




The, as-yet incomplete Fake Isle Hat from the November Magknits. I’m not sure, but I think I made the floats too tight; the top kinda gets pointy. That is further complicated by the fact that my ‘dreads’ are still in a sticking-straight-up stage and so it makes the hat hard to push down. I was going to hand paint it in stripes(each vertical section would be a different color) but I might just dye it all one color and give it to hubby. He doesn’t have much hair(or at least his hair can be squished down way easier than mine. I’d love to knit this pattern again though, so I really have to dig in my stash. One thing I had a problem with was that in some spots the yarn was thicker than worsted and it made knitting on those 4.25mm needles harder than it should have been. Too bad the Finn came out heavy fingering-sport weight or I’d use that. Hmmm. Smaller yarn, smaller hat? small enough for a Beanlet?? Hmmm πŸ˜€

It doesn’t end there. I recently acquired 2 luscious lbs. of fiber from The SheepShed Studio!!:


Mill ends!! I’m not sure what kind of wool is used in the Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride yarns, but this is supposed to be mill ends of what they use. It’s soooo soft and scrummy!! After the merino-spinning disaster I’ve had yesterday, I’m nervous. I read people referring to the fiber as practice fibers so maybe it’s not too bad. For the price I guess I can accept it if I fark it up lovely.

And let’s not forget this:

I debated for an hour over whether to get the brown/white or the black/white. The black/white won over when I read that you can dye this roving and only the white parts would show the color.. That would be very cool to see. But alas, this batch of fiber is prepped such that I’d have to spin the black/white patches first and THEN dye. No biggie. Dyeing yarn takes less space and time than dyeing fiber.

I’m going to get a spread-out, outdoors pic of Icarus to you. I swear it. Even if I have to wear a coat πŸ™‚ I’ve just been too occupied with other stuff.

Back to Xmas knitting!!

11 responses to “Over’Joy’ed

  1. That Finn does look so lucious. Great job! I love your hat too. It’s so cool. I want one! Lol. I’ve been spinning up a storm too.

    Necia

  2. I LOVE THAT HAT!!!!!!
    and I am glad I am not the only one to overflow my bobbins πŸ˜‰

  3. The Finn looks great! I havent had much of a chance to work on my Fake Isle, using Noro,,, due to the fact I’m involved in my first KAL,,, Its for a shawl done up in worsted so very dealable for me. Have been doing a bit of spindling tho and might actually get a crack at my wheel later!

  4. cute hat Soya! and lovely spinning. i am so sad i didn’t buy some of that Finn, it definitely looks luscious.

  5. The Finn looks great and so does that hat! I like the idea of painting stripes in after, I might just have to make another hat.

  6. I just got an order from them. They sent me a bunch of black which I would be happy to send to you. Too hard for me to see.

  7. Pretty hat! The stripe idea is good – if not this one, some other time.

  8. Found your blog via Lacevember & love it. The hat is cute & I’m so envious that you know how to spin!

  9. love the fake isle hat!!!

  10. Very cool hat! and your hank of Finn looks great. How does it spin up. I am thinking of getting some of the fiber. Is it soft? Scratchy?

  11. I just finished this hat (haven’t posted it on my blog yet) and the pointiness of it irritated me. So I ripped back to the decreases, and only worked one row after each decrease row, and that eliminated the pointiness. If that makes any sense. It looks great in black & white- I just found a use for a stray skein of white yarn!

Leave a Reply

