Out with the old, In with the new

I haven’t completely forgotten about Socktoberfest! I only wish I were able to knit faster. I could have knocked out more than one pair this past month.

Such as it is, here’s the completed Diamante:


It was an fairly ok knit. My one regret was that I didn’t work them both at the same time. And of course, they are a little big on me. But that’s ok. They’ll make comfy bed socks. I was going to give them to hubby but the bind-off is a little too tight on one sock. I’d rather leave it as is and move on to something new.

Specs:
Diamante, from knitty.com
Needles: Addi Turbo 2.5mm, 40inch circ(magic loop)
Yarn: Stahl-sche Wolle “Socka 50” Sport & Strumpf
Started: 10/7/06
Finished: 10/28/06

Father and Son is still going. I have to finish those up as well. But then, there’s this:


My progress on the Icarus Shawl, for Lacevember. Icarus is a fun knit, although I kept getting stuck at row 21. Turns out I was losing a YO in the return purl row before it. In this picture, the shawl is about two rows away from starting the second chart. I’m going to cut Icky short and only do 4 repeats of the first part. On top of the repetition starting to make me fall asleep, I’m not all that tall so I really don’t need a shawl that will block out longer than I am tall. I can tell already Icky’s gonna be a big one. I’m hoping it won’t get freezing cold just yet so I can take an outdoor pic with it.

Have you seen this?!

Oh man.. I don’t have any Noro in my stash.. I could try and dye something I already have… Why didn’t I think of something this cool?. Hmmmm

3 responses to “Out with the old, In with the new

  1. Do you like the color red? 🙂 I like the socks….add those to my to do list. And I’m glad you figured out what the problem was on Icky.

  2. Hey Tamara,

    Congratulations on finishing a pair of socks for socktoberfest. I can’t even say the same. Those hats are hawt!. I don’t have any Noro in my stash either, which is just as well with all the ish I have on the needles.

    No worries about Fricke. I actually think my part loosened up from so much travelling, afterall it was put together when I bought it. I’m conifdent when I receive the solvent I’ll be back in business.

    Take Care!

    Necia

  3. OMG Tamara,,,, I love that “Fake” Isle hat! Def cool looking pattern,,,, and since its small enough to do,,, well,,, 😉 Thank you for posting that cool link.

Leave a Reply

