It’s On!

 

SockToberfest is on! Instead of the Cablenet socks I chose to start off with Diamante , Also from this Fall’s Knitty. Diamante’s a very simple pattern, and I get to practice making a toe-up sock with a heel flap! Heretofore, I’ve been doing my toe-ups with a short-row heel because that’s a heel I can do in either direction without much thought. The pattern calls for them to be knit on 2 circs, and guess what? I even did that! Right now, though, this sock is on the Magic Loop because when I wasn’t paying attention, I grabbed the wrong needle tip and wound up dropping a needle after the stitches were knit off.. But I do fully intend to get back into 2 circs, just so I can get in more practice with that technique. Throw another method on the barby!!

Here’s Diamante #1 so far:

Once I’m almost done with sock #2 of the pair, I’ll cast on for Father and Son, featured in the Fall Interweave Knits magazine.

So classic, and simple, and I get to do small cables. I haven’t really knit socks for hubby before. I made a pair meant for me but they were HUGE so I gave them to him. It would be nice for him and DS to have a matching pair.. I don’t know if I’ll get both pairs done by month’s end but I sure will try.

While I’m on the topic of socks I thought I’d put up my answers to Lolly’s sock knitter questionnaire.

* When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?I started knitting socks shortly after learning to knit, which was back in March of 2004. I am a self taught knitter, using books, and the internet.

* What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?My first pair were made from some Fortissima Colori sock yarn, using the 56-stitch, 56-row pattern found here . They’ve held up well, being the sock yarn is a wool/nylon blend.

* What would you have done differently?
I don’t think I’d have done anything differently. I even managed to knit them on the magic loop, because I had problems with DPNs.

* What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
I found favorites in Koigu PPPM, Lorna’s Laces, and more recently, Opal and Trekking XXL. I’m not really picky though, and would knit Kroy if it were given to me. I have yet to knit with Socks that Rock, and I’m not too bothered about Cherry Tree Hill because to me, it’s just *gasp* Koigu in one big skein(ducks the flying needles).

* Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?I’ve never crocheted socks. I don’t crochet much nowadays. I’ve knit socks on pretty much all three methods(see above!), but I more recently prefer circulars to DPNs.

* Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?) I started out learning with heel flaps, but now I’m more partial to short rows.

* How many pairs have you made?Umm.. off the top of my head? I’d say at least 20.

 

Cabled Newsboy Cap progress:

This is the project that made me try 2-circs again, after failing miserably in the past. I don’t have a shorter circ in the size I need for the hat so I had to figure out something. And figure I did. 2 Circs. It’s a little fiddly with one of the cords being longer than is optimal for this method(this is also why I gave up on it with the socks), but I’m not going to give this up. I WANT THIS HAT.

Sizzle is off the needles!!:

Forgive the fuzziness, please..I had to hang the camera on the fence(after spending at least 30 minutes trying to find the timer function!)in order to take these pictures.

Pattern Analysis:
Where do I start? I THOUGHT I was just raising the neckline a little bit. You see where it wound up. Damn. I’m gonna try this again in a different yarn, one day. I also plan on putting Sizzle BACK on the needles because I need to knit down from the bottom and add some fabric. It’s a tad too short for my tastes.

Also, there was a point in my knitting life where I realized I’m NOT as big around as I think. I’d been making sweaters/tops in the 48-50″ bust size and they’d come out WAY too big. Now, it might be because the yarn used for Sizzle is stretchy, but I knit the 46″ size and it’s a much better fit! Wow. No, I didn’t lose weight. In fact, since I left work I have gained! But it just goes to show I don’t know how to measure myself either. I’m not one for knitting with shaping or ease in mind, because I don’t have a smooth shape(notice I said smooth, not small), but I think I did really well with this project. I am not going to put the armhole seed stitching on because I jacked up the neckline so lovely, I’m not taking chances and then I can’t get my turkey wings in the damn thing! So it’s pretty much staying the way it is. I managed to get the armhole on a tank/vest to fit well and I ain’t gonna mess that up.

Sizzle Specs:
Pattern: Sizzle by Wendy Bernard
Yarn: Austermann Mayfair in color 02(blue/black)
Needle: 4.25mm(US 6) Clover Bamboo circ 29″
Don’t ask how much I used. I don’t know; the yarn would knot so much I’d just give up trying to untangle and cut and add in a new ball(don’t kill me Karen!)–BUT, if K gave me 8 balls, I have 3 untouched so I used the better part of 5?
Started 9/3, completed 10/8
Better pictures will be added to the flickr Gallery some day.

Oh, and if you want to see the mystery blue item I posted about last time, check out Karen’s blog soon. I sure she’ll mention it 😉

7 responses to “It’s On!

  1. Sizzle looks great! You did a really good job. I wouldn’t worry about the neckline – it looks very much like it’s supposed to be that way. I think it’s very nice!

  2. Awesome socks, and I love your Sizzle too. 🙂

  3. Sizzle looks good! I like the way the neckline turned out. Like a vest. I’m down with vests.

    Your Diamante looks great. Mine – frogged. I picked the wrong yarn for the pattern. I’ll go back to it soon, but with something solid. *sigh*

  4. Hey Beans,

    Why on earth did you mention Chocolate and Chai, and my son’s name all in one sentence on my blog. Shame you woman. Guess what I’m going to be looking for, first thing in the morning, even though I have more than enough tea. Lol.

    As far as CTH being reminiscent of Koigu, who says it isn’t the same base yarn? Lately I’ve been matching up my own base yarns as far as socks are concerned in my head. Yanno? Could very well be the same. I can’t say I agree or disagree with you, as I’ve never used CTH, yet!

    Necia

  5. so I mosy by here to see what the bean is up to and find THIS??? oh my gosh woman you are suuuuuper buissy!
    and I absolutely love everything….
    father and son socks???? what a neat idea… haven’t seen the magazine but I have my ideas… can’t wait to see yours!

  6. wow cool!! your sizzle turned out really good!! but i agree with you on the yarn, i think it has a stretchy factor to it, so when making the tank, i think you can allow for a “negative ease” to it.

  7. Sizzle looks great! I often need to lengthen sweaters too….

    Diamante also looks pretty cool, I might need to try that one!

    Father and Son socks are cute! Hope Frank agrees!

Leave a Reply

