Happy SockDay to Me….

Yep, another year has come and gone for me.

I am a knitter, who is now 33.

My knitty-friends all know, what I like to knit best

is SOCKS, so bring on SOCKTOBERFEST!

I don’t know about you, and call me a braggart, but I pride myself on having knit socks as one of my earliest projects. No scarves and dishcloths for me! Oh, I have knit those items and I usually enjoy them. But something about socks just drew me to try that challenge first. I learned many different techniques with socks. Everything from the simplest decreases, to the most complicated of bind-offs. One such technique I like, mock cabling, is something I’ll get to do with the Cablenet socks I want to make soon. And I think SockToberfest is the perfect time for it. I can’t wait to cast on.

Here’s a snippet of what’s got me going sockaloony right now:

I don’t usually knit on a deadline but this is for someone special. πŸ™‚ As soon as it is complete, Cablenet here I come!

I’m almost to the armholes on the front of Sizzle, so that’s coming along nicely. The other WIPs in the sidebar(yes, it’s finally updated), are also being worked on. The new issue of Magknits coming online doesn’t help matters, especially since there are projects from Magknits I’ve wanted to work on for a while, but never had the chance to scope out thoroughly. For example, I keep seeing items with beads. But they all require the beads to match. I have a crapload of small beads but um.. they don’t all match. Maybe the same color/hue but still different. Maybe I can get over it. There are quite a few beaded knits I want to try. I’ve never knit with beads before but I’d bet it’s not too hard.

Well, off I go!! TTFN!

P.S. Sonja, if you’re reading this.. Happy Birthday to YOU too!!

12 responses to “Happy SockDay to Me….

  1. Happy Socktoberfest!! Oh damn, I guess that means I need to pick a pattern and cast on already. Those cablenet socks are supersexy, can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. Happy Birthday! That blue yarn looks great, and I can’t wait to see your Cablenet socks. πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Birthday Beanie!

  4. Happy Birthday! I love the color you chose…such a pretty blue. ANd I can’t wait to see your sizzle πŸ™‚

  5. Hope you had a smashing bday hon. I’m loving socks too. Oh the madness of sock knitting.

    Necia

  6. Happy Birthday to you!!!!

  7. Bean, where ARE you?

    We miss you in chat!

    Happy Birthday to you, Happy birthday to you……

  8. Happy b-day! You’re still a young ‘un!

  9. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY FAVOURITE BEAN!!!!!

  10. Happy Late Birthday!

    Socks are great. I love them too!

    And I want to see the secret project !

  11. Oooh, happy birthday!! Glad that Sizzle is coming along well for you, and that it will be an FO soon! Can’t wait to see you in it! =)

  12. Your Diamante sock made me happy-dance!

Leave a Reply

