Hat Trick!(again)

It’s starting to get cold again. And you know what that means. Yep, hat season. Who am I kidding? It’s 70 degrees right now and partly cloudy. But before you know it, it’ll be 20 below. There’s another reason I’ll be hatting-it soon. Behold, my wild hair!!

And just because I’ve been told I don’t smile enough:

I’ve had these twists in about three weeks now. I’ve tried almost all manner of dredlock-styling aids except wax and some of them just refuse to stay. I was instructed to use some Sebastian Molding Mud(thangQ to the kind person who gave hubby two Target giftcards, ’cause I was NOT paying damn near $20 for a 4.4oz jar!), and I’m iffy on it. I figure my best bet would be to just not comb my hair anymore and not manipulate it as much as possible to get the locks to stay in over time. I know there’s a reason why Rastafarians cover their dreads, and I’m not one, but I’ve got my own: It’s gonna look like hell long before they look right! Hence the need for a hat.

And I’ve got this:

4 of 6 balls of Tahki Chelsea Silk, 50/50 wool silk blend. I’m thinking a simple cloche or ribbed-hem beanie might do the trick. Nothing fancy to osbcure the tweedy effect of the yarn. I could probably get by with only one ball and the other 5 can become a matching stole.. need to find a worthy pattern for it.

And I know you wanna know:


Check out the stitchmarkers, made by me. 9 repeats(I think? I lost track…) so far. I just want to get this thing off the needles. I need the needle for another project(can you say Startitis?). 🙂 Really, it’s not that bad right now. With Kiri, and a mystery project or 5, I’m alright. Honestly.

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Happy Labor Day!!

10 responses to “Hat Trick!(again)

  1. You and your hair are adorable, Bean! Kiri looks yummy, love that colour.

  2. YAYYY for dreadlets!!!! I love your hair it looks cute on you! and I love the hatyarn too!
    try using the DEP it works for mine!

  3. It’s not wild! I like it!

  4. i like the hair, and thanks for the comment.

  5. I like your hair!

    Many days, I wish for hair that would DO something other than lie flat and straight.

    Hats are good!

    I am going into hat season too soon….starting with that green handspun….

  6. I agree that you are and your hair look great! I know the hair pains. Mine is constantly behind a bandana right now. It’s either that or I’m back to shaving it 🙂 I like your silky hat idea. I have a LYS trip in my future.

  7. Hair good, yarn great. 😀

  8. Cute twists! I don’t think you need to hide them yet!

    Go, yarn!

  9. Don’t you want to just get it all over with and get some big pink wool dread extensions? I have been trying to talk a friend into letting me do her hair in extensions for months. if she wasn’t a fancy cocktail waitress I think she’d go for it!

Leave a Reply

