Challenges, Adjustment, Renewal, Accomplishments

Warning: Long and Pic-heavy Post ahead!

Those were the words swirling around in my head. Coming to mind as I look over all the knitting I have around me.
Latestwips_and_fos_004Challenge: I took on the challenge of knitting 2 pairs of socks at one time on an extra long circular needle. I didn’t get too far with that. Whenever I knit on them, it bothers my wrists. I don’t know what it is. I’m thinking it’s because the first time I knit Crusoe I did it on DPNs. or just too many socks on the cords weighing it down.

Adjustment: One of those pairs is coming off. I’m finding more and more sock patterns I want to try and frankly, I don’t need two pairs of Crusoe. At least, not at one time.

Challenge: Tulip Socks. Something was bugging me about them, but I couldn’t put my finger on it at first.

Renewal: I don’t think Palette is the right yarn for them. If only Knitpicks sold a bunch of more solidly constructed sock yarns in the same color palette as Palette, one might be inclined to try the socks with that instead. I DO think Palette would be great for mittens, and the Northern Lights mittens are sending me vibes. K is making a pair and so far, hers look great! At least now, I can justify not needing them til it gets cold. ๐Ÿ™‚

ColumbiapliedColumplied
Accomplishments: Dyed, plied and laid to the side(awaiting the rest of it) Columbia wool top.* 137.5 yards, my biggest skein of continuous yarn to date!

Latestwips_and_fos_001Latestwips_and_fos_002

Charlotte’s Web Shawl, sans edging/fringe — It’s getting fringed but not today. I’m having a problem with the way it looks. The design doesn’t pop out at me. I know, it’s the variegated yarn. You can get a better idea of the pattern from a distance and on a solid white background, but what about when I’m wearing it? *sigh* Charlotte’s a bit short because somewhere in there I farked up the pattern and I wasn’t about to rip back. I knew if I kept going on the misaligned stitches I’d end up with another Shimmer disaster, so I quit while I was ahead.
Latestwips_and_fos_003_1
Dyed sock yarn — Redyelloworange. This will become socks for the girls. I have another ball undeyed and it will become socks for their brother.

Latestwips_and_fos_005Hot Pot! Well, not anymore. Because I’ve got two potholders and I’m working on an oven mitt to match! Note to self: Next time you want to make something up, write it down so your set pieces will match! Duh.

As for the  NYC Spin-Out, I didn’t go. Once I knew it was going to rain I cancelled my sitter for the weekend. Then I got wind of an indoor location for the meeting but not until after it would have been a waste of time trying to get the sitter back on and getting the kids TO the sitter(not close by), and then getting TO the event in time to enjoy it. So, I stayed home. I’m sure there’ll be pics from other attendees out there in the spinning blogosphere.

*I finally learned the difference between roving and top.

5 responses to “Challenges, Adjustment, Renewal, Accomplishments

  1. Four socks at one time sounds like a big mess of tangled up yarn to me.
    I like your Charlotte’s Web. In general I think lace patterns are lost in variegated yarn, but CW is such an all-over pattern that it works. Very pretty. I don’t think you farked it up at all.

  2. Thanks for the well-wishes ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t make spin-out either (rain and crutches – great combo ;).

    I love the Poseiden Adventure too, but for some reason i had no recollection ofher knitting in that movie. I was glad to see it!

    Charlotte’s web is beautiful – and she’s grown up so quick!

  3. Wow – your yellow/orange/red sock yarn came out just like I was envisioning mine to come out like. I suppose you actually used 3 different dyes though didn’t you? *sigh* And here I though overlapping yellow and red would give me orange in the middle. I was so, so wrong.

    Your “top” turned out wonderful! I’m gearing up to learn spinning. I have the fiber on the way to me!

  4. I think your Charlotte is very pretty. A few fringes, and she’ll be fine.

  5. Heya beanie!
    Love your charlottes web!
    and the redorangeyellow yarn! I love the way you dye your yarn… mine always comes out in pastell tones…
    see you in chat ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

