Goodies, Fun, and Progress

Where to start?? Ok Goodies first:

Karen is one of the sweetest people I know. You probably already knew that, but it bears repeating. Who else would give a friend  a wedding anniversary gift?? 😀 Look!
Estatelopi_002That is 20 balls of Icelandic Lopi! Over 2000 yards of feltable goodness, in blue, black heather, and natural.  WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEe ThangQ Karen!!

Shona is another Knitty pal who’s a sweetheart. She’s in Scotland and sent me THIS:
Shonagift1Shonagift2I was admiring a pair of socks on her blog when she decided to GIVE them to me! 😀 So there you see, the socks, the pattern she used to make it(her own design!), a keychain, Haribo gummies–yumm–and a little kitty gift card.  I’ve never really been RAKed before but 2006 has been busy for me. So far I’ve gotten sock yarns with patterns(Bec), socks with patterns(Shona) and sock yarn and chocolates(Gundy). I’m going Sock crazy! 😀 and I love it!!

I put the socks on and they fit perfectly! Shonalacepicot
Shonalacesox

Now for Fun: Yesterday I met up with Karen at The Point for some knitting and chat. We’ve begun a mini-KAL I’d like to call Cook’N’Bean’s Picovoli KAL. We are both working on Picovoli, she in Knitpicks Shine and me with Debbie Bliss Wool/Cotton. Dumb me forgot to take a pic of my progress but here she is with hers:
Karenshrugpoint

Let’s not forget the old stash. I know. Stash flash is over but I finally got everything under control:
Stashconfined
Stashconfined2

And that doesn’t include the Lopi I just got.

Last but not least, some Progress. While I was typing this post I decided to just snap some quick progress pics:
Estatelopi_004
That’s my Picovoli, already on the second ball of yarn. I knew I’d eventually find something to knit with the DB cotton/wool. It was just too pretty a yarn to not use. I’ve got to be more careful with buying yarns I don’t have a specific project for. Such a weakness I have.

And finally, a new sock in the wings: Estatelopi_003

These will be a plain old toe-up sock on 56 stitches with a provisional cast on. The yarn is Knitpicks Sock Garden, in Daffodil. It’s lovely to knit with; so soft. I can’t wait to wear them. I must remind myself to cast off the ribbing loosely with a needle two sizes larger than I’m knitting with. The last time I cast off a toe up sock the top end was tight and I couldn’t even get the sock past my heel.

Next up on the To-Do list: Nautie KAL news(see button under More Daily Insanity).

4 responses to “Goodies, Fun, and Progress

  1. Saw your post on knitty and I just had to visit with the name Bean in your title!

  2. Hi
    Glad the sox fitted and arrived ok. Would have commented before but been having problems with my computer, but now up and running again. CHAT soon. Shona xx

  3. I like the KnitPicks socks…I haven’t tried their yarn yet but may have to give it a try one of these days.

    BTW, if you’re interested in knitting the waffle stitch pattern on your next pair, it’s a simple stitch. Just knit three rows of K2, P2. On the 4th row, purl all the stitches. That’s all there is to it!

  4. ooh haribo gummies are the BEST!!

Leave a Reply

