What’s been up?

Woooooooooooooo lots to talk about. Where to start?

New Projects:   As previously noted, I’ve added Branching Out to my WIPs list. Also, Pomatomus is on the needles. It’s almost ready for a heel flap.

Still on the needles: I’ve finished up a Jaywalker and am halfway down the leg of the second sock. I’m not going to say anything else about Jay except to note when I finish them. All future sock projects will be documented on the 12-Steppers sock blog.   Check that site out for some soon-to-com sock yarn pr0n.  Next up, Trellis and Vine.Trellisonefourthdone She’s coming along nicely. At Val’s house on Saturday I made progress.

While at Val’s place K and I tried out her new spinning wheel. I didn’t do all that well, but I tried my hand again at drop spindling and it wasn’t too bad.  I think a top whorl spindle is better for me than a bottom one.

K dropped me and my son off at the bus stop on the way home. And wouldn’t you know it? I’d gotten out of the car RIGHT in front of the Sew Materialistic shop, which is home to Roxy Yarns.  What a surprise. We went inside and found some really nice yarns. I’m talking Debbie Bliss, Andes, Lana Grossa, ArtYarns, Cascade… And the best part is, it’s all in a fabric store which will come in handy when I want to line a felted bag.  A nice all in one place without having to travel to the far ends of Brooklyn.

I met up with K again on Wednesday at our usual haunt, The Point. Sat for a while, drank some chai, knit some rows( rounds for K), and had a ball. Got some headway on Pomatous Mepomatomus and BO. We left to      check out Purl, but I wasn’t inspired so we headed on back to our spot.  I had to Branchoutbeginresist getting more Trekking XXL when K, being the lovely enabler she is, said “ Oh! Look! They’ve got some nice Trekking back there…” I went over, I fondled, and eventually I just put it back.
I’m gonna try to be good this year. I want to go to the Sheep and Wool Festival at Rhinebeck, NY this fall and I’m gonna need all the cash I can get my hands on.

4 responses to “What’s been up?

  1. Me, an enabler? Ha!! LOL!!

  2. Yay for socks, especially Pomatomus! And yay for finding unexpected yarn stores. Good luck being disciplined and saving…

  3. Hah! nope not an ABP, a Starbucks, but hard to tell from the pic.

    I will tell her that her Branching out looks great. I’m recasting on for mine so I guess we’re all doing em 🙂

    I’m glad you had a good experience of Roxy Yarns. It is a healthy but doable walk from my house, but i’ve never gone when the owner was there, and the fabric side people aren’t as nice. I’ll have to go back and check it out.

  4. I’m proud of you. I know from experience, it’s very hard to put Trekking XXL back. I almost never do it.

Leave a Reply

