In the Still of the Night

Well, not really. Not with hubby competing with a birthing cow for "Noisiest Animal". And the ‘keets wouldn’t shut up either..

Lately I’ve been in a funk. Just don’t know what to knit! Somehow I got into the idea of lacework but it hasn’t been working out for me at all. Seems like no matter WHAT pattern I try the numbers don’t add up, the stitches don’t come out right and everything needs to be ripped. Look at this pretty shawl! And this one! I’m a knitter! I should be able to MAKE one of these, not having to buy it!

After spending all day wracking my brains over those patterns(among others), I found something else to try instead. It’s pretty but not miserably complicated with a bazillion different stitch patterns on it. This is where I’m at now, half-way through the second pattern repeat.
Bellshawlstart
For now, it’s just an ‘experiment’. The yarn is some Cascade 220 I overdyed with various Kool Aid flavors. Unfortunately, I only have the one ball. The pattern calls for sport weight yarn on size 10 needles. I’m using worsted on size 10.75’s. We’ll see how big it gets when the ball finishes. Since this is just a trial, so to speak, of the pattern I don’t mind adding a color way off the charts. If it works out well, I now know what to do with those 12 balls of Debbie Bliss Wool/cotton I have laying around.

2 responses to “In the Still of the Night

  1. I love those colors, and I’m glad you found a pattern that cooperated better!

    I’m in a bit of a knitting funk, too. I’ll pick something up, knit a row or two, then put it down. Not sure why.

  2. I think you’ve got the right idea. Soon, you’ll go back to those patterns and they’ll seem simple.

    By the way, you picked some pretty items! I’d like to knit those too!

Leave a Reply

