Cruisin’!!!

Wooooo where do I start! I arrived at Pier 81( or was it Pier 83?)for the First Annual Knitty/The Point Anniversary Cruise,  and met up with Karen, Valerie and Maryann.  We got on the Jacana, and in a little while we were off! I got to meet Amy Singer(Knitty editor, for those who don’t already know) and a good time was had by all. There was a silent auction but I didn’t participate. Here are (left to right, Karen, Maryann, and Valerie.
Kmv

This lady made an amazing scrap yarn shawl!  I won’t show her face since I’m not sure if she even wants her pic shown.
Ladywith_scrap_shawl

This is me, of course, working on a Broadripple sock
MeonjacanaSee what I’m wearing?  That’s the first Shimmer. I brought it along to show to others where I’d messed up and then… it was breezy on the water so I put it on! She’s so cozy and warm I don’t think I want to rip her now.. She’s a little loose and I’ve learned to accept that her sleeves are too long to wear normally, so I just rolled up the sleeves.
And the finished sock:
Broadripple1 This sock is a bit big on me. I wasn’t expecting it to be as tall as it is. I think when I  do another pair(and I WILL) I’ll use a size smaller needle.

We sailed down the Hudson River, past Ellis Island Ellis_island and Lady Liberty . I keep seeing her with needles in her upstretched hand, and a bunch of yarn in the hand that holds the tablet! Wouldn’t THAT be cool!?

At the end of the cruise, everyone got a goodie bag with some neat yarn samples.. which teased me and I had to go TO the store to get more yarn. One of the goodies was a ball of Cascade 220 Superwash which I’d been wanting to get my hands on. Unfortunately it’s not enough to make Wavy but I liked making Coronet, so I’m gonna get two more skeins  of  the Superwash and make Wavy and a hat to match.

I had a great time and I can’t wait for next year! WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

4 responses to “Cruisin’!!!

  1. Sounds like a great day. I had no idea there even was a Knitty Cruise. Guess I need to read more than the patterns and techniques at Knitty!

    Your Broadripple sock looks good. Maybe they can be gifted if they are not comfy for you.

  2. I wish I could have been there. It looks like you had a great time! 😀

    And while I am not a shawl gal, that scrap yarn shawl is lovely.

  3. Hey, why are my eyes like that? 🙂

    I can’t wait for next year either!

  4. Sounds like a great day – I’m so jealous! And Cascade yarn to boot.

    I found my broadripple socks a tad too big too – and I have wide feet. I don’t know if I was stretching the Fixation out too much as I knit. But it’s a fun pattern to do – and I’m sure you can find someone to give the sock to!

Leave a Reply

