Shimmer Again!

Yep, I finally cast on for another Shimmer. I might be getting a little pattern help this time around, though. I’m using Patons Brilliant. I really wanted the Glitterspun but I can’t justify the price for a synthetic  yarn. Besides I couldn’t find it close by and the Patons is readily available without having to pay shipping. This time, Shimmer’s sleeves are going to be a tad shorter. Here’s what I’ve got so far:
Shimmer2sleeve1

I love how this yarn sparkles. Which reminds me. I’m supposed to be joining the SparKAL, hosted by Glittrgrl. Oops. Better sign up quick.

Winter is coming! The latest issue of MagKnits is now up, and already I want to do this, this, and this. I’ve still got about 14 balls of the Lana D’oro Tweed left that I can dye accordingly. Although I’m not sure I’d want to attempt to dye something black, so there’ll be some major color reversing/changing.

Then the fall Knitty should be out soon too. While I enjoyed looking at the summer issue patterns I didn’t feel a pull to any particular one. Maybe the fall issue will have something I can sink my teeth needles into. Gonna be doing some serious felting this season. I can’t see anything else to do with all the non-superwash wool I have laying around. It’s mostly bulky and I can’t find any patterns I like that’ll need only a few skeins of anything.  Of course, sock season is coming as well. The kids could all use new hats/scarves/mittens and I’m game for that. I just hope I’ll be able to get the needles past security. It sucks working at an airport I tell you. I mean, it’s not like I’m getting on the plane, for crissake. You really think I’d rip my knitting just to stab somebody with my precious needles?! You’re daft! Really, not enough people understand the passion that is knitting.

ETA:

Oh I almost forgot! I was rummaging through some of my mom’s old stuff and came across this book:

Vintageknitbook. Have you seen it before? I forgot my mom had this. I looked through it and I’m really feeling these two projects: Vintagedress

Vintage_top_1
I think I can tweak the patterns just a bit to make them fit better. While I’ve never been all that much of a vintage fan I think I’d like to try a few patterns. The hardest part would be dealing with typos and finding the yarns called for. In fact most of the yarns/yarn companies mentioned in this book no longer exist. I was surprised to see the likes of Coats & Clark, Bernat , Reynolds, and Lion Brand, as well as retailers like Mary Maxim. Bates(needles) and Boye(needles). Wow!  Vintage isn’t as old as I thought! 🙂

3 responses to “Shimmer Again!

  1. I love that first sweater!! I got my issue of family circle easy crochet fall 2005 today in ft. smith. I have a few patterns I’m wanting to try out, but too many other projects to finish first 😛 I’m felting a bag for myself when I finish my 35 swap squares 🙂 of course I still gotta crochet it. Don’t start in on me about knitting either 😛 I’m not a knitter….i’ve tried 😦 I’ll try again after Christmas when I’ve finished all my Christmas presents *hehe* Love ya girly 😡

  2. Wow that -is- some sparkly yarn. That’s gonna be great when it’s done. 🙂

    In the mean time, you’ve been tagged! You can find the questions on my blog. 🙂

  3. Oh My that Caution scarf is too funny!!! Yes you must knit that!!!

Leave a Reply

