Good News!

Good news! It looks like a digital camera is in the works really soon! So, once again I’ll be able to post some decent pictures. For that reason I’m going to hold out on a progress pic of the item mentioned in the previous post until the camera arrives. Speaking of which, in case you didn’t accidentally see the name of the item in the picture, it was a sleeve of Shimmer. She’s turning out to be rather, um, challenging. Like another Shimmer knitter, I realized too late that the pattern repeat was not properly laid out in the instructions and it resulted in a major throwing-off of the pattern. Call me lazy but I am NOT ripping that out. That’s 6-7 balls of yarn’s worth of work already and I need probably another 4-5 to finish.

One Skein Wonder has been dyed(and redyed but you can’t really tell just by looking at it) and this is the result:   
   
Osw_dyedThe picture isn’t all that great. I promise something better real soon. It’s a maroonish color with pink edging. I was trying to go for a more red color but in my utter mindless(read: I wasn’t paying attention and moved too fast), I mixed Tropical Punch with Raspberry Reaction(not regular raspberry, this stuff turned BLUE!), and got a deep purple/maroon type color instead. Oops. That’s ok. I might be crazy enough to make another one of these–this time in the appropriate weight yarn, and it will be made a color I’ll like better.

Speaking of dyed yarns… how about these:

 
Slippersocks_unfelt
These started out as socks of worsted weight(think: unplanned stash reduction project) and I wasn’t too thrilled with the way they looked on my feet. So I threw them in the wash so I could make slippers out of them for SugarBoogers. They came out ok(pics soon!) but.. I’ve learned something with this project. I like sock weight/fingering yarn for my socks best. For the kids, worsted is ok. Their feet don’t stretch the stitches out as much as mine would. I give that WW socks work up much more quickly than sock yarn does. Pooey.

One of these days I’m going to figure out a way to jerry-rig a yarn swift so that I can use it to wind hanks of yarn. I’ve decided that I might start using Lion Brand’s Fisherman’s Wool for my dyeing projects (you can’t beat the yardage per/price vs. Patons with a bat!), but this yarn comes in  balls. Winding hanks for dyeing has been such a chore I stopped dyeing yarn for a while. I’d like to get back into making my own colorways, or even self-striping yarns.  I’ve read people knit a swatch and then hand dye to see where the stripes would wind up, or something like that. I’ll have to try that one day.

4 responses to “Good News!

  1. Those socks are SO cute! Can I have them? 🙂

    You want use a swift? Come here and you can use it all you like.

  2. Yay — pictures rock! Even if they are from a camera phone hehe. I still say bleach the OSW and start over. Kool-aid colors are so unpredictable sometimes. Maybe try again with the Wilton this time. Shaking the hell out of a small jar really is good therapy 😉 😉

  3. lookin good girly!

  4. Yikes! I wouldn’t rip it out either if I had gotten that far. 😛

Leave a Reply

