Knitting Madness!

Well, not really madness. But a bit of knitting. The Pinwheel baby blanket is more popular than I’d imagined. Seems quite a few other knitters are working on it. I’m almost done with the second skein. And I’ve gotten to 350 stitches around. I highly doubt I’ll use all 8 balls. Just not gonna happen. And it’ll probably be plenty big after the first 2 1/2 balls anyway.

Tried swatching for X-back. It wasn’t going well in the round and I found some people who admit they didn’t swatch in the round. This is supposed to matter with stockinette because flat stockinette involves purling every other row.  Evidentally, purling gives a different gauge than knitting(which I’ve found to be true.) With in-the-round stockinette you never purl.  But, X-back is done in seed stitch which alternates the stitches. I’m going to cast on a swatch again and do it flat. Trying to do it in the round was really annoying and I couldn’t keep the needles together. I just hope I get gauge easily. Karen is using size 13s to get gauge. Knowing me, I’ll probably wind up using that size too.

In other news.. I’ve been doing some self-sprucing. I need a serious haircut, what with it being summer now. I thought I’d have the braids all season but they’re starting to wear on me. Everyone at work notices me now. I guess walking around half-nekkid helps. No, seriously. I got tired of looking frumpy. I’m married, not dead! Even hubby likes what he sees. 20 lbs down. 80 to go!

If you like inexpensive costume jewelry, So Good Jewelry is the place to go. Look them up if you’re ever in NYC. I went in there and about died. Wall to wall earrings, bangles, rings, headbands, you name it. All sorts of colors, and sterling silver too.  I can’t wait to get my hair cut and then I can really show off my pretty earrings!

I got book eleven in the Janet Evanovich ‘Plum’ series. But can you believe it? I haven’t really started to read it. It SOUNDS really fun but I re-disovered word search puzzlebooks and I can’t seem to tear myself away from them during my commute. Today was the first time in a few weeks I’ve actually knit on the bus. I try not to take too-complicated a project with me because I don’t want to have to stop mid-row/pattern repetition when I need to get off the bus. I’ve been going to the city a bit more lately, and the train ride is much longer. Enough time to get a few multi-row pattern repeats done if I have to. But the Pinwheel and Xback are pretty straightforward. Belle Epoque is waiting in the wings to be continued, and I’ve already memorized the pattern repeat. I can even tell where I am in it when I leave it to the side for a bit. I’m in no hurry with her though. I want to finish X-back and wear her ONCE before it gets cool again.

That’s it for now. Possibly some FO pics of the blanket next post. And a surprise or two!.

2 responses to “Knitting Madness!

  1. I’m hoping that my local library (it SUCKS!!!) has the Janet Evanovich books. I would like to read them in order.

    And I can’t wait to see the new hairstyle…we should get together again soon. 🙂

  2. HOW CAN YOU NOT HAVE PICKED THE BOOK UP YET?????? you are NUTS, girl!!! i don’t put it down until i finish it. i swear it takes only 2 hours *fans self* more and more explosions abound in each and every book…and *dreamy sigh* RANGER *fans harder* need i say more?
    read it NOW!!

Leave a Reply

