Espresso Macchiato

Two people came into the store today asking for one of those espresso macchiato. I had no clue what that was until the first customer told me. It’s an espresso shot with a little bit of steamed milk on top. Score one for the clueless coffee drinker (Ding!).

Which gets me to thinking about shades of brown. I have some brown acrylic somewhere in my stash(thanks to my local $.99 store!), and I have some beige/natural chunky Whistler yarn which I’m using to make(a mess of) Big Sack. But I just realized I don’t have very much in the way of earth tones in my stash. Hmmm

There’s that olive green-like Koigu I got last year. I don’t know what made me buy it but I think it’s going to become one of the colors in that Chevron Scarf from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts.

I’ve got a nice juicy skein of the Knitpicks Dye-Your-Own yarn and I’d like to try to make a variegated yarn where there’s some beige-ish brown in it. I guess in this case mixing colors you shouldn’t put together will come in handy. Of course, with my luck I’ll attempt to fark up the yarn on purpose and wind up with a really beautiful color instead.

Until now I’ve been dyeing in fruity mind-blinding colors. And yes, Spring is here and it’s time to blossom and bloom. So I’m going to be the oddball and use some neutral tones in the mix.. green/beige/blue? red/beige/orange? Time to drag out that big, potato-flake can of kool aid and Wilton’s dyes.. *insane laughter*

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

3 responses to “Espresso Macchiato

  1. Love your new home! Looks like you’re settling in nicely. I’m a coffee snob and I didn’t have a flipping clue what a macchiato was, so don’t feel bad. Sounds like some kind of weapon to me.

  2. I used to work in a coffee shop and I hated all the weird requests…but I guess each to their own – lets face it coffee is a must… Good luck with your dye job….can’t what to see what you create

  3. I love your new blog. I just moved to typepad too. I like it here.

Leave a Reply

